// //

Denmark Currency

The currency of Denmark is the Danish Krone (sign: kr; code: DKK). This is also the official currency of the autonomous provinces of Greenland and the Faroe Islands. Even though Denmark is part of the European Union, it did not join the "Euro land".

The plural form of Denmark's currency is "kroner".

One krone is divided into 100 øre, the singular form being the same as the plural.

The ISO 4217 code is DKK; the domestic abbreviation is "kr.". Occasionally, the variants DKR or Dkr are seen, but these are not official.

The krone is linked to the euro via the European Union's exchange rate mechanism.

Here are some currency conversions with today's (30/Jul/2016) exchange rate:

DKK to USD: 1 DKK = 0.1497 USD
USD to DKK: 1 USD = 6.6492 DKK

DKK to EUR: 1 DKK = 0.1343 EUR
EUR to DKK: 1 EUR = 7.4377 DKK

Denmark Currency Converter

Amount to convert

New Danish Banknotes

Between 2009 and 2011, new banknotes are being issued in Denmark. Karin Birgitte Lund is the artist behind the new Danish banknotes. She was chosen among eight artists invited to submit draft proposals for the banknotes. She chose to interpret the theme of landscapes near the bridges as prehistoric finds made in the landscapes surrounding the bridges. In that way she shows how the bridges link both the parts of the country and the past and present. The expected schedule for introducing the new banknotes is:

  • 50 kroner: 11 August 2009 – Sallingsund Bridge and the Skarpsalling vessel
  • 100 kroner: 4 May 2010 – Little Belt Bridge and the Hindsgavl dagger
  • 200 kroner: October 2010 – Knippelsbro and a belt-plate from Langstrup 
  • 500 kroner: February 2011 – Queen Alexandrine's Bridge and the bronze vessel from Keldby 
  • 1,000 kroner: May 2011 – Great Belt Bridge and the Sun Chariot